A Brief History

The BWF World Championships is held every year except for the year of an Olympic Games. It is a showcase of the very best in the sport and it determines who are the World Champions in each of the five disciplines, men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles and mixed doubles.

The first World Championships was hosted in Malmo Sweden in 1977, and the Championship was held every three years until 1983, after which, it became a biennial event until 2003. Since 2005 however, the BWF World Championships has become an annual tournament.

The BWF World Championships is an individual event and each Member Association is invited to enter their players through the world ranking qualification.. For each event, the joint third place winner gets a bronze medal, the runner-up silver and the winner is awarded a gold medal and title “World Champion”.