Ready for Liftoff!

Monday, August 21, 2017

US Women’s Doubles pair Eva Lee and Paula Lynn Obanana kick-start the action at the TOTAL BWF World Championships 2017 when they take on Chinese Taipei’s Chang Ching Hui and Yang Ching Tun at 11am local time today.

The 23rd World Championships is being held at Emirates Arena in Glasgow.

Action on the other three courts at the same time consists of Canada’s Adrian Liu/Toby Ng versus Russia’s Evgenij Dremin/Denis Grachev (Men’s Doubles); Bulgaria’s Mariya Mitsova versus Egypt’s Menna Eltanany, Switzerland’s Sabrina Jaquet versus Ukraine’s Natalya Voytsekh, and Denmark’s Mia Blichfeldt versus Germany’s Fabienne Deprez (all Women’s Singles).

The opening day’s play will be divided into four sessions.

Men’s Singles top seed Son Wan Ho (Korea) begins his quest in the second session, against Finland’s Kalle Koljonen. Five-time World champion Lin Dan (China) is scheduled to come on court for the second match in the 3pm session, against local hopeful Kieran Merrilees.

Other prominent names on the opening day include Canada’s Women’s Singles hope Michelle Li (against Bulgaria’s Linda Zetchiri), India’s Men’s Singles flag-bearer Kidambi Srikanth (against Russia’s Sergey Sirant) and England’s Rajiv Ouseph (against Czech Republic’s Adam Mendrek).

Action on Day 2 will also begin at 11am, but will feature only three sessions.

Three-time silver medallist Lee Chong Wei’s (Malaysia) campaign will begin tomorrow, against Frenchman Brice Leverdez. The high-profile contest will be the third match on Court 1 in the opening session.

Another interesting Men’s Singles contest, between Denmark’s Hans-Kristian Solberg Vittinghus and China’s Tian Houwei, is slotted as the third match in the 1pm session on Court 1.

Those who will do battle on the second day include India’s Women’s Singles ace Pusarla V Sindhu, Men’s Singles defending champion Chen Long, Dubai World Superseries Finals champion Viktor Axelsen (Denmark), and England’s Mixed Doubles duo Chris Adcock/Gabrielle Adcock.

The semi-finals will be held on Saturday 26 August and the finals a day later, on Sunday 27 August.

Click here for the schedule